

Physical Address

Centurion Gate Business Park Block A To D, 146 Akkerboom Street Zwartkop, Centurion, 0157

Email: Info@rtmc.co.za Tel: (012) 999-5200 Fax: (012) 991-0371

Postal Address Private Bag X147 Pretoria, 0001

The Road Traffic Management Corporation (RTMC) is an Agency of The Department of Transport and a Member of the United Nations Road Safety Collaboration

MEDIA RELEASE

To:All News EditorsIssued:01 October 2024Attention:News Reporters / Transport Reporters /Newswires

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE WINNERS OF THE NATIONAL ROAD SAFETY DEBATES AND PARTICIPATORY EDUCATION TECHNIQUES COMPETITIONS

PRETORIA: - The Road Traffic Management Corporation (RTMC) congratulates the winners of the Participatory Educational Techniques (PET) and National Road Safety Debates competition held in Bloemfontein last week.

The programme is a national initiative that is coordinated by the RTMC and is implemented across all nine provinces. This effort is targeted towards high school learners who are in Grades 10 and 11, with the purpose of imparting road safety education amongst peers.

For the PET competition, learners are required to identify and conduct thorough – research- road safety concerns in their respective communities, from which they develop and implement sustainable solutions to address these road safety challenges.





These solutions are exemplified on models, illustrations and presentations which learners are adjudicated on.

In contrast, learners competing in the debates are provided with motions related to road safety beforehand to conduct thorough research to prepare for the competition which takes place in the form of a debate.

These programmes aim to foster a positive mindset and encourage behavioural change among young people, making them proactive road safety ambassadors who champion safer road usage practices in their communities. They not only equip learners with innovative ways of promoting road safety but also help them develop leadership and presentation skills.

Position	Winners		
Road Safety Debates- rural			
1 st	Mpumalanga	Suikerland Secondary School	
2 nd	Gauteng	Sikhululekile Maths, Science and ICT School of Specialisation	
3 rd	Free State	Samuel Johnson Secondary School	
Best speaker	Sipho Hlebeya	Mpumalanga	

The RTMC congratulates all the winners as per category below:

Road Safety Debate- urban		
1 st	Limpopo	Mbilwi Secondary School
		Taxila Secondary School
		Mahlakodisha Secondary School





Board of Directors: Ms N Mufamadi (Chairperson), Prof. M Mphahlele, Ms T Thankge CD(SA), Dr E Thebe, Adv. X Stemela, Ms L Magalo, Prof C Twala, Mr NJ Kudzingana, Adv. J Makgatho* Chief Executive Officer: Advocate MS Msibi Company Secretary: Ms S Petse *Departmental Representative

2 nd	Mpumalanga	Phaphamani Secondary School
		Zacheas Malaza High School
		Chief Ampi Mayisa Secondary School
3 rd	Northwest	Tigerkloof High School
Best	Sithembiso Thomo	Zacheas Malaza High School,
speaker		Mpumalanga

Participatory Educational Techniques- rural		
1 st	Mpumalanga	Khula Secondary School
2 nd	Western Cape	Klapmuts High School
3 rd	Limpopo	Dimani Agricultural School

Participatory Educational Techniques – urban			
1 st	KwaZulu-Natal	King Bhekuzulu High School	
2 nd	Limpopo	Jane Furse Comprehensive school	
3 rd	Mpumalanga	Phumelela Secondary School	

ENDS

ISSUED BY: THE ROAD TRAFFIC MANAGEMENT CORPORATION (RTMC)

Contact person: Simon Zwane: Chief Communication Officer (082) 551-9892

www.rtmc.co.za

Tel: 012 999 5200

Twitter: @TrafficRTMC



