

Physical Address Eco Origin Office Park, Block F 349 Witch-Hazel Street Highveld Ext 79, 0157 Centurion, Gauteng South Africa

Email: Info@rtmc.co.za Tel: (012) 999-5200 Fax: (012) 991-0371

Postal Address Private Bag X147 Pretoria, 0001

The Road Traffic Management Corporation (RTMC) is an Agency of The Department of Transport and a Member of the United Nations Road Safety Collaboration

PRESS RELEASE

To: All Media Issued: 17 August 2019 For immediate release

MINISTER MBALULA WELCOMES PRESIDENT CYRIL RAMAPHOSA'S SIGNING OF THE AARTO BILL

Gauteng - Transport Minister Fikile Mbalula has welcomed President Cyril Ramaphosa's signing of the Administrative Adjudication of the Road Traffic Offences (AARTO) Amendment Bill into law.

The AARTO Act brings with it new provisions of the road traffic law, such as the addition of the electronic serving of infringement documents, setting up of the points demerit system and creation of rehabilitation centres for habitual infringers.

"During the Transport Department's Budget Vote Speech, this administration made a promise to road users, that in the spirit of Khawuleza, we will expedite service delivery and deal decisively with lawlessness on the roads, in a bid to drastically reduce road fatalities.

The signing into law of the AARTO Amendment Bill has brought that promise to fruition", said Minister Mbalula. The Minister will be holding a press briefing tomorrow, to discuss the AARTO Act and the implementation thereof.

Members of the media are invited to attend the briefing. Details are as follows:

Date: 18 August 2019

Time: 09:30



Board of Directors: Mr Z Majavu CD(SA) (Chairman), Ms P Manqele, Ms T Mdlulwa, Ms D Ewertse Mr T Kgomo, Prof. M Mphahlele, Ms T Thankge, Dr E Thebe, Mr J Motsatsing* Chief Executive Officer: Advocate MS Msibi Company Secretary: Ms S Petse *Departmental Representative Venue: N1 North, Carousel Plaza, Maubane Off-ramp

Kindly confirm your attendance with Tshegofatso Maake on 063 281 9453 or Maaket@dot.gov.za

ENDS

Issued by:

The Ministry of Transport

For more information contact:

Ayanda Allie Paine

Spokesperson

074 823 7979



Board of Directors: Mr Z Majavu CD(SA) (Chairman), Ms P Manqele, Ms T Mdlulwa, Ms D Ewertse Mr T Kgomo, Prof. M Mphahlele, Ms T Thankge, Dr E Thebe, Mr J Motsatsing* Chief Executive Officer: Advocate MS Msibi Company Secretary: Ms S Petse *Departmental Representative