My Account


The RTMC Act provides for ten (10) functional areas, as agreed to by the Shareholders Committee

These 10 functional areas or units are as follow and are sub units of the two main core units:

    1.  Training of traffic personnel
    2.  Road traffic information
    3.  Accident investigations and recording thereof
    4.  Communication and education
    5.  Infrastructure safety audits

The RTMC Act provides for ten (10) functional areas:

Road Traffic Law Enforcement

The Enforcement Co-ordination Unit is responsible for the co-ordination of road traffic interventions across the three tiers of government and this is done through the facilitation of quarterly technical committee meetings comprising of national, provincial and metropolitan traffic departments as well as representatives from SAPS, Cross Border Road Transport Agency, Military Police and the Institute of Traffic and Municipal Police Officers. These meetings result amongst others, in the development and implementation of the revised National Rolling Enforcement Plan (NREP).

National Road Traffic Law Enforcement Code (NRTLEC)

In terms of Section 32(1) of RTMC Act, 20 of 1999, “For the purpose of executing the road traffic law enforcement function, the chief executive officer in consultation with relevant stakeholder must develop a National Road Traffic Law Enforcement Code.

The Enforcement Coordination Unit published the draft National Road Traffic Law Enforcement Code (NRTLEC) for public comments that were reviewed during April and July 2011 by a special working group established by the Road Traffic Management Coordinating Committee (RTMCC). Subsequently, the workgroup compiled a report which will be tabled at the RTMCC and then to the Shareholders’ Committee after-which the process for publishing the Code into a final and binding document will follow.

Training of Traffic Personnel

This Unit is task with the responsibility to ensure standardized, professional training at all approved Traffic Training Centres across the country.
The unit executes its responsibilities by standardising; monitoring, evaluating and assessing the training that is offered at all approved Traffic Training Centers. The unit is also responsible for the development of curriculum and the overall quality of traffic training.

Vehicle Registration and Licensing

The function is performed on behalf of the RTMC by the Department of Transport

Vehicle and Roadworthiness Testing

The function is performed on behalf of the RTMC by the Department of Transport

Testing and Licensing of Drivers

The function is performed on behalf of the RTMC by the Department of Transport

read more

  1.  Road traffic law enforcement
  2.  Vehicle registration and licensing
  3.  Vehicle and roadworthiness testing
  4.  Testing and licensing of drivers
  5.  Administrative adjudication of road traffic offences (AARTO)

Recognizing the importance of the regulation of public transport and road traffic to the development, safety and quality of life of all South Africans, the purpose for which the RTMC was established is:

  • To enhance the overall quality of road traffic management and service provision
  • To strengthen the cooperation and coordination between the national, provincial and local spheres of government in the management of road traffic
  • To maximize the effectiveness of provincial and local government efforts, particularly in road traffic law enforcement
  • To create business opportunities, particularly for the previously disadvantaged sectors, to supplement public sector capacity
  • To guide and sustain the expansion of private sector investment in road traffic management

Read More